Finalists announced! 2016 3M-ACRS Diamond Road Safety Awards

In recognition of the gathering momentum to combat road trauma, 26 deserving finalists have been announced to be in the running for this year’s 3M-ACRS Diamond Road Safety Award, the premier road safety award for exemplary groups/projects across the Australasian region. The award is now entering its 6th year and is recognised as Australasia’s ultimate road safety achievement for the region’s most innovative, cost-effective road safety initiative/program which stands out from standard, everyday practice and delivers significant improvements in road safety for the community.

This year’s finalists are (in random order):

A compendium of front line road and workzone safety solutions
Boylan Group Pty Ltd
Team Leader:  Mr Alan Hay

Country Roads Safety
Yass Valley Council
Team Leader:  Mrs Melissa Weller

Young Drivers yrchoice Snapchat Campaign
Auckland Transport
Team Leader:  Mrs Claire Dixon

Mobile Traffic Offender Deterrent System (MTODS)
Brisbane Motorway Services
Team Leader:  Mr Brett Simpson

Green reflector marking of informal truck bays
Team Leader: Mr Rod Hannifey

SAFE Fleet Program
Drivers around the world return home safely at the end of each day

Johnson & Johnson
Team Leader:  Mr Andrew Houston

Herbert St Dandenong – Permanent Part-Time Road Closure
City of Greater Dandenong
Team Leader:  Mr Daniel Przychodzki

Construction of Safety Measures Kennedy and Templeton Street Castlemaine
Mount Alexander Shire Council
Team Leader:  Mrs Janice Smith

Mount Zero – Road Safety on Mountain Roads
Neighbourhood Watch Group
Team Leader:  Ms Jo Ellice-Flint

2015 Queensland Road Safety Week
Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads
Team Leader:  Ms Jane Richards

Prevention of Numerous Deaths within Minutes
Personal Submission
Team Leader:  Mr Leon Hain

Hoon Alert – Early Warning System
Fulton Hogan Industries Pty Ltd
Team Leader:  Mr David Snape

Trauma Department, Westmead Hospital
Team Leader:  Ms Julkie Seggie

RACV Safe Mates Program
Royal Automobile Club of Victoria
Team Leader:  Ms Rebekah Smith

Safe School Speeds Project
City of Wanneroo
Team Leader:  Mr Ryan Gibson

Queensland Police Service community road safety engagement programs
Queensland Police Service
Team Leader:  Senior Constable Sandy Atkinson

The ‘It’s Holiday Time’ children’s road safety campaign
Little Blue Dinosaur Foundation
Team Leader:  Ms Michelle McLaughlin

Distracted…? Pedestrian Campaign
North Sydney Council
Team Leader:  Ms Stella Stefan

PCYC – Braking the Cycle
Queensland Police-Citizens Youth Welfare Association
Team Leader:  Sergeant Linda Baade

Better Moves Around Schools
Moonee Valley City Council
Team Leader:  Mrs Anna Psarras

Multicultural Learner License Program
Queensland Police Service
Team Leader:  Sergeant Joanna Broughton

NSW Motorcycle CRASH Card
Hornsby Shire Council
Team Leader:  Ms Lesley Tipping

Drive Drink Free for a Happy Ending
Auckland Transport
Team Leader:  Mrs Claire Dixon

Motorcycle Hazard Identification Mapping
Southern Region Roads and Maritime Services

Roads and Maritime Services
Team Leader:  Mr Robert Reynolds

Transforming the lives of Indigenous Territorians through a driver licence
NT Government Dept of Transport
Team Leader:  Mr Wayne Buckley

Mobile in Moreton
Queensland Police Service
Team Leader:  Sergeant Joanna Broughton

ACRS President, Lauchlan McIntosh AM, said “the high quality of this years’ finalists exemplifies the growing recognition across all sectors of society of the major role that all organisations and individuals can play in expediting road trauma reductions.  The quality of submissions from these finalists is testament to the exceptionally high standard of innovation that is being implemented across the road safety spectrum, and I sincerely congratulate all finalists on this worthy achievement”.

The winning Team Leader will be presented with their award at the 2016 Australasian Road Safety Conference (ARSC2016) Gala Dinner to be held in Canberra on Wednesday 7 September 2016, in front of an anticipated audience of over 500 road safety professionals and advocates from across the region and internationally.  The winner will receive a trip to the USA to attend the 47th ATSSA Annual Convention & Traffic Expo in 2016 to be held in Arizona, USA, and will also visit 3M Global Headquarters in Minnesota. The winner will also present their winning entry and USA trip at the 2017 Australasian Road Safety Conference.

Also to be presented on the night is the 2016 ACRS Fellowship Award, which is recognised as the Australasian road safety community’s highest honour, recognising an individual for their outstanding commitment and effectiveness in their efforts to reduce road trauma.