

Australasian College of Road Safety Victorian Chapter ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Thursday, April 7, 2022 (Zoom)

MINUTES

Meeting start: 11.07 am

1. Welcome and apologies

Attend: Jeff Potter (chair), Wendy Taylor (minutes), Chris Harrison, Sam Buckis, Sjaan Koppel, Croag Hoey, Joanne Vanselow, Elle Lazar, Ross Gregory, David Healy, Kathryn Collier, Jeremy Lawrence, Marilyn Johnson, Max Cameron, Naomi Arndt-Cooper

Apologies: Kenn Beer

2. Minutes from ACRS Victoria Chapter AGM, May 13, 2021
Accepted

3. Victoria Chapter Chair report

The past year has been an eventful and successful one for the Victorian Chapter. The Melbourne 2021 Australasian Road Safety Conference was the highlight of the year, due in no small part to the dedication of many members of the Chapter who served on the Conference Organising Committee, Scientific sub Committee, Sponsorship sub Committee, Social sub Committee and the international Outreach committee. I would like to thank everyone who has given their time so freely, particularly the sub committee chairs, Marilyn Johnson, Shaun Lennard, Kathryn Collier and Ray Shuey. I particularly thank Marilyn Johnson who, with the assistance of Raph Grzebieta and the rest of the scientific sub-committee, doggedly pursued abstracts, papers and reviewers to ensure we had the necessary content for the conference. I would also thank National President Martin Small, College CEO Ingrid Johnson and everyone from the National Office, as well as Shanna Sheldrick and her team whose support made the first fully online Australasian Road Safety Conference such a success.

The evolving impacts of the global pandemic thwarted our plans for several other events during the year. Nonetheless the planning that was put into these events will serve the incoming Committee in good stead for the coming year.

Congratulations to Victorian Chapter member Ray Shuey for receiving an AM for significant service to road safety organisations and initiatives in the Australia Day Honours

As with any member lead organisation, nothing would happen without the industry and efficiency of the committee members. Thank you to everyone who has served on the Victorian Chapter committee in 2021-22, and especially to Wendy Taylor for so diligently and effectively fulfilling the roles of Secretary and Treasurer, Elvira Lazar for excellent communications and logistics to keep committee and membership informed, and Kathryn Collier for cheerfully stepping in, often at very short notice, to chair meetings and ably represent the College. I would also like to thank Marilyn Johnson and Kelly Imberger, who are stepping down from the Victorian Chapter Committee after many years of valuable and deeply appreciated contributions.

Jeff Potter, Chair, ACRS Victorian Chapter, April 2022

4. Treasurer's report

Table 1. ACRS VC financial summary – January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021

Account	Opening balance January 1, 2021	Incoming	Outgoing	Closing balance December 31, 2021
Bendigo Bank	\$13,489.81	\$10,001.45	\$854.28	\$22,555.73
Total	\$13,489.81	\$10,001.45	\$854.28	\$22,555.73

Incoming: Bank interest \$1.45, ACRS conference contribution \$10,000 Outgoing: events cost \$629.73, admin \$78.43, name badges \$305.80 and GST reimbursement (\$81.25)

4. Committee elections:

All positions were declared vacant.

Nominations were sought and seconded for all Executive positions. In all cases, there being only a single nomination, all those nominated were declared elected

Chair: Chris Harrison (Nominated: C Harrison, Seconded: J Potter)
Deputy Chair: Kathryn Collier (Nominated: K Collier, Seconded: J Potter)
Secretary/Treasurer: Wendy Taylor (Nominated: W Taylor, Seconded: K Collier)
Communications and Events: Elvira Lazar (Nominated: E Lazar, K. Collier)

The following members were nominated to serve on the Chapter Committee and were declared elected: Kenn Beer, Sam Buckis, Max Cameron, Ross Gregory, David Healy, Craig Hoey, Naomi Arndt-Cooper, Sjaan Koppel, Joanne Vanselow

Action: WT to update bank signatories noting Chair change from Jeff Potter to Christine Harrison, and update ACRS webpage, and contact list etc(completed)

7. Chapter activities report

7.1 Motorcycle Safety Forum May 19, 2022 (during National Road Safety Week).

Organising is underway, and flyer being distributed. TAC sponsorship accented with

Organising is underway, and flyer being distributed. TAC sponsorship accepted with gratitude and delight.

7.2 Fatigue event

Action: New committee to assess

8. Other business

8.1 Tasmania NEW chapter (2)

JP advised a new Tasmanian Chapter. Nat. office to review start-up funds, and assistance to chapters hosting the annual conference.

8.2 RTSSV Shine a light on road safety reminder (May 1, 2022)

8.3 Jeremy Lawrence, from **Streets Alive Yarra** is happy to brief the new committee about SAY

Action: WT to follow up with the committee

8.4 Marilyn Johnson thanked Jeff Potter, and Chris Brennan, and the VC committee for their dedication over the past three years to bring the conference to fruitition under difficult and challenging circumstances, providing crucial continuity.

Meeting close 11.40 am